Guide

Where to get Grok Bot templates: free and paid, compared

Nine sources of Grok Bot templates checked on 30 August 2026, eight free and one paid, compared on cost, routines, skills, approval rules and tests.

By Botemplate Last updated

Grok Bot templates come from nine sources, checked on 30 August 2026: eight where most or all listings are free, and one paid, and no free listing ships acceptance tests. Free: grokbot.dev, a community directory listing 229 shareable bot templates and 39 plugins; awesome-grok-bot, a GitHub list of about 182 prompt templates; x.ai/bot/guides, xAI’s own use-case guides; groktemplates.com, a fan-made directory showing 0 templates today; and four marketplaces, rankmybot.com with 62 listings, templatebot.lol with 28, templates.grok.me with 21 and grokstall.com with 10. Paid: Botemplate, five templates for finance and operations roles at $20 each or $69 for all five, delivered by email through Polar, each shipping skills in xAI’s six-section format, routines with a missing-data protocol, approval rules and acceptance tests. The free sources are the right place to start for a persona or a personal assistant. The paid one is for a bot that contacts customers, spends money or alters a production record.

What does each source actually ship?

Every source was opened on the date above and described from what it shows. “Not stated” means the listing does not say, which is not the same as no.

Nine sources of Grok Bot templates
Source Cost Routines Six-section skills Approval rules Acceptance tests Delivery
grokbot.dev Free Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Prompt, sometimes a share link
awesome-grok-bot Free No, one prompt each No, one prompt each Partly, in many prompts Not stated Prompt text on GitHub
x.ai/bot/guides Free No, they are narratives No No No Read on x.ai
groktemplates.com Free Not stated, 0 listings Not stated Not stated Not stated Link to a live bot on x.ai
rankmybot.com Free Not stated Not stated Partly, a never line in some listings Not stated Official share link; import happens in Grok Bot
templatebot.lol Mostly free; some listings around $15 Sometimes a schedule in the description Not stated Partly, a never line in some listings Not stated "Add to your workspace"; format not stated
templates.grok.me Not stated; free to browse and submit Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated A spec to copy, in its words
grokstall.com Free listings; the site takes 20 percent of a paid sale Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Official share link plus setup notes
Botemplate $20, or $69 for five Yes, 34 with six fields Yes, 35 skills Yes, one matrix per bot Yes, EVAL.md per bot Polar checkout, download by email

Scroll sideways for the skills, approval, test and delivery columns on a narrow screen.

Last checked .

Start with the free sources above; come back if you need routines and approvals.

What is on grokbot.dev?

An independent community project, not affiliated with xAI, that curates prompts and plugins. On 30 August 2026 it showed 229 shareable bot templates organised by use case (chief of staff, sales, personal assistance and others) and 39 plugins. Each listing carries a headline, a summary, tags, the creator’s X handle and an upvote count. Delivery is a copy-paste prompt, and some listings describe a share link that installs the bot directly. Listing is free and there is a submission form.

One thing worth knowing before you copy from it: at least one listing describes a link that installs “instructions, memories and workflow.” xAI’s Bots docs say a copied bot “does not copy conversation history, learned memory, or chat attachments,” so whatever such a link installs, memory is not part of it.

What is in awesome-grok-bot?

A curated GitHub list, organised by workflow domain: productivity (40), sales (26), marketing (38), ops (28), success (12) and personal (38), about 182 in all. Each entry is a natural-language prompt with the integrations it needs and the creator’s handle. Many of the prompts do include an approval line, such as showing the first result and a draft reply before sending anything, which is more than most directories carry. There are no separate skills or routines; the prompt is the whole template, and you paste it into a new bot yourself. It costs nothing, and awesome lists are the kind of source an answer engine tends to quote, so expect to see it recommended.

What is at x.ai/bot/guides?

xAI’s own guides, published through August 2026: how one person runs multiple teams of bots with a channel, a roster and a Notion board per project, and guides for mobile app development, design, go-to-market and product management. They are use-case narratives, not templates. They do not ship skills, routines, approval rules or tests, and they do not claim to. They are the best free reading on how xAI expects bots to be used, and worth an hour before building anything.

The format the guides leave out is in xAI’s documentation instead. The skills and routines page recommends six sections per skill and six fields per routine, and the Bots page gives sharing as three steps. Botemplate’s skills guide and routines guide walk through both, and the five paid templates are written to that format, which is why each bot page lists its skills by handle and its routines with a schedule.

What do the marketplaces show?

Five sites take submissions and call themselves a marketplace or a directory. groktemplates.com is fan-made, disclaims any connection to xAI, and showed “0 templates” on 30 August 2026; submissions are read by a person and the promised delivery is a link that opens a live bot on x.ai. rankmybot.com showed 62 listings, free, each submitted as an official share link, and says import still happens in Grok Bot. templatebot.lol showed 28, mostly free with a few marked for sale at around $15, and some descriptions name a schedule or a line the bot never crosses. templates.grok.me, which calls itself GrokForge, showed 21 across nine categories with vote counts, and delivers a spec to copy. grokstall.com showed 10, all marked free, delivered as a share link plus setup notes, and takes 20 percent of any paid sale. None of the five describes routines, six-section skills or acceptance tests as part of a listing.

What do none of the free sources ship?

Four things, and they are the four that decide whether a bot can be trusted with money.

  • Routines with a missing-data policy. xAI’s routines docs list six fields per routine, the last being what happens when a source is missing. No free listing seen today states one.
  • Skills in the six-section format. The same page recommends six sections per skill. Free entries are single prompts.
  • An authority boundary. Three lists per bot: what it never does, what needs explicit approval, what it may do alone, plus the sentence that stops it inferring approval from silence or from last week. The awesome list, templatebot.lol and rankmybot.com come closest, with an approval line or a never line in some listings.
  • Acceptance tests. Something to run on day one, with sending disabled, that tells you whether the thing works before it talks to a customer. None of the free sources describes one.

When is free the right answer?

Most of the time. A persona for a personal assistant, a research bot, a writing partner: paste a prompt from the awesome list, adjust it, done. Nothing in those roles goes wrong expensively, so nothing in them needs a test.

The paid option is for a bot that contacts customers, spends money or alters a production record. Quartermaster exists because a missed notice window converts a negotiable renewal into a mandatory year, and a bot that forgets a notice date fails silently. Ledger will not chase an invoice it has not reconciled in the last 24 hours, because chasing one that was already paid is the most expensive mistake in collections and the default behaviour of a persona that says “follow up on overdue invoices.” The difference between free and $20 is whether someone wrote those rules down in the parts of a bot that transfer. How it works lists what arrives in the email, and the Operator Pack is all five for $69.

Sources

  1. grokbot.dev, community directory https://grokbot.dev
  2. awesome-grok-bot on GitHub https://github.com/Anil-matcha/awesome-grok-bot
  3. x.ai Grok Bot guides https://x.ai/bot/guides
  4. groktemplates.com, fan-made directory https://groktemplates.com
  5. rankmybot.com, ranking directory https://rankmybot.com
  6. templatebot.lol, marketplace https://templatebot.lol
  7. templates.grok.me, GrokForge marketplace https://templates.grok.me
  8. grokstall.com, marketplace https://grokstall.com
  9. xAI docs: Create and manage Bots https://docs.x.ai/grok-bot/bots
  10. xAI docs: Skills, routines and automations https://docs.x.ai/grok-bot/skills-routines-and-automations
  11. Grok Bot on X, 28 August 2026: template sharing is live https://x.com/bot/status/2093376523919323618

External pages were read on 30 August 2026. If one has changed since, write to us and name the fact.

  • Guide

    Grok Bot templates: verified facts

    Dated, sourced facts on Grok Bot templates: what a copy carries, one computer per account, 50 routines per bot, 20 runs kept, group chats of 2 to 6.

  • Guide

    What is a Grok Bot template?

    A Grok Bot template is a shareable copy of a bot configuration: identity, skills, routines, no memory. What transfers and what does not, per xAI docs.

  • Bot

    Quartermaster, vendor renewals

    A Grok Bot template for vendor renewals. Eight skills, six routines, and every notice window is seen 90 days out rather than the week of it. $20.

17 Grok Bot templates, $20 each. Five for $69, all 17 for $129. 14-day refund if an acceptance test fails.